Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a group of current or retired K-16 educators from all over Pennsylvania that support the coordinator to promote geographic literacy in the state. They participate and facilitate the various projects sponsored by the PA Alliance for Geographic Education, as well as continue partnerships with organizations with similar goals.

The Steering Committee has established a yearly tradition to meet each June to work on upcoming projects face-to-face.  However, they also utilize conference calls and other communication to meet the needs of the Alliance.

The current Steering Committee members are:

  • Jan Smith, Coordinator  (Shippensburg)   Professor- Shippensburg University
  • Lisa Draper  (Macungie)  Teacher- Bethlehem School District
  • Nicole Ernst  (Harrisburg)  Assistant Professor- Harrisburg Area Community College
  • Nicole Eshelman (Lancaster)  Teacher- Manheim Township High School
  • Deb Frantz (Halifax)  Retired elementary teacher
  • David Fyfe  (York)  Professor- York College
  • Hubert Huang  (Allentown)  AP Human Geography
  • Lori Jones (Valencia)  Elementary teacher
  • Sara Jones (Titusville)  Teacher- Titusville High School
  • Tom Mueller (California) Professor- California University of PA
  • Kristy Snider (Effort)  Teacher- Pocono Mountain School District
  • Jerome Staniszewski (Ft. Loudon)  Teacher- James Buchanan Middle School
  • Jodi Vender (University Park)  Undergrad Advising & Alumni Relations- Penn State University
  • Daryl Wenner (Scranton)  Adjunct Professor- Bloomsburg University



The Steering Committee met in State College this past January to plan the year’s upcoming projects and events.